top of page
Search
  • TheDailyOccupation

The Healing Power of Pets


Our family dog Freyja and I on graduation.

I am currently in the process of moving across the country to start my OT career. This is a very exciting time, however it has also proven to be very stressful. Throughout most of my life I have lived in the Midwest. I have always enjoyed travelling and exploring new areas, but this will be the first time I will not have an end date to this adventure where I will be able to go home and visit family easily. Being thousands of miles apart changes things. Through this process I have noticed myself spending more time with my pets to provide me an outlet from the stress. This transition has shown me how much animals have helped me regulate my emotions.

 

Growing up I was constantly surrounded by animals. With my mom being a veterinarian and living on a hobby farm, I had amazing opportunities to learn about animals and how they make an impact on your life. For as long as I can remember, I wanted to be a veterinarian just like my mom, but as time went on and I started creating my own path, I was not sure if veterinary medicine was right for me. Throughout college I was involved in various organizations that provided animal assisted therapy; specifically with dogs and horses.


Providing therapeutic riding experiences for campers.

Over the years I have been able to work with so many amazing people and animals. Through these experiences I realized how great of an impact animals have on all of us, whether we are 90 years old and in a nursing home, a young child, or just coming home from a long day at work. There is just something about a pet, they somehow find a way to show us unconditional love and respect without thinking twice. We are able to learn so much through them.

Teaching young girls how to care for and ride horses.

As I moved on with my journey of finding my purpose in life, I found occupational therapy. I love this profession, and love it even more knowing that there are ways that I can use animals in practice. There are many journal articles out there related to animal assisted therapy in OT. Many articles are in the areas of children with autism and cerebral palsy, however there are also articles out there that look at individuals with mental health disorders, individuals with dementia or Alzheimer's, inmates, and those who are homeless. The possibilities are endless with animal assisted therapy! Animals have been used to assist clients in coping with a new medical diagnosis, provide a new occupation or role for clients, provide sensory integration, teach living skills, and many more.

If you are interested in learning more about these articles, please click below.

 

I myself have had my own experiences with using animals as a therapeutic medium to help me more effectively cope with life. Since middle school I have diagnosed with anxiety and depression. I soon realized that riding horse and training our family dogs were very important outlets for me. Growing up it was difficult for me to open up to people, but not to our pets. I never felt insecure or anxious around or pets, no matter how bad I was struggling, they always showed me love and affection. When it was time to go to college, it was very hard to not have a pet around. By the time I was a Junior in college, I required an emotional support animal (ESA) due to my anxiety and depression. I was struggling academically, socially, and emotionally. I was able to bring my cat, KitKat to live with me in the dorms. Having him there helped me to finish school successfully without my mental health deteriorating. He has been with me through every large milestone in my life (college, graduate school, and now my new career). I will never underestimate the power that animals have on us, and this is why I am passionate about using them in therapy, whether it be at work, or on a volunteer basis.

KitKat and I on graduation.


116 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page